What does canceling an order do? When should I use the Cancel Order feature?
The system won’t let you cancel an order until you first refund it. After that, when you cancel the order, it is marked “Void” in the Database and removed from the account and order search. The canceled order will still be visible in the Database if you search by order number or Associate ID; however, it’s deleted as far as the Associate is concerned.
Many DirectScale clients cancel orders after refunding so that those orders don’t clutter up reporting and Web Office order histories, but it’s not required. As long as you take those marked refunded into account in your reporting, there isn’t any harm in leaving them.
The only time you would cancel an order without first refunding it is to remove test orders.
Please sign in to leave a comment.